Reminiscing on my 18th birthday – 18 things I’ve learned in 18 years

Hey! So, I recently turned 18 and to be honest I’m not quite sure how to feel about it yet. Of course, there are always the good sides to it (I will finally be able to check into hotels/travel without “worrying” and I can legally buy alcohol!)… But, it also comes with a lot of responsibilities (which let’s admit are not that fun)! Whilst growing up, I’ve realized and learned some things. I tried to put all the things I’ve learned into only a list of 18. So, here are 18 things that I would like to share with you all!
.

.

« Don’t stop until you reach your goals »
This one sounds quite tough, but, if you want anything in life you have to fight for it and continue doing it, even with all the criticism.
.
« Friends are your chosen family »
I have realized that I am so lucky to be born and raised in a family that I love and loves me back. A family where I feel welcomed and safe. But, then again you don’t need to feel this way with only family, you can also feel this way with your friends. Over the years I’ve realized that friends are literally everything.
.
« A moment of pain is worth a lifetime of glory »
This quote is one of the most important ones in my opinion. As dark and as hopeless as a moment may seem there is ALWAYS light at the end of the tunnel. Things do get better and there is always hope. I promise.
.
« Don’t waste your life being sad »
This one goes along with the previous quote. Very cliché but still very true. Life passes by so quickly and you won’t even realize it! Don’t waste your time being sad over the things that you don’t have and focus on what you DO have! Also, don’t let the little things ruin everything that is so important.
.
« Do things to make yourself proud of YOU, don’t do them because they make other people proud »
When I left high school, I knew that that was the right decision for me. However, I still felt like I had failed some people around me. I really wanted to show people what I was capable of, so, I didn’t listen to other people and I followed what I thought was right. I don’t regret that decision at all. That is why it is so important to focus on you, trust your gut and do you makes you happy and proud!
.
« If you want something to be well done, you have to do it yourself. No one else is going to make your dreams happen apart from you.  »
This one speaks for itself.
.
« Never take yourself too seriously »
One of my golden life rules. You should always embarrass yourself once in a while.
.
« Money and fame don’t buy happiness »
Money can make you happy for 5 Minutes but in the long run it really doesn’t give you that much happiness. Being with loved ones and living fun experiences; that is true happiness. Also, don’t misinterpret fame to be this amazing thing!
.
« Life’s too short to diet »
Take this from someone who has had an eating disorder… I’ve always said this because this quote is kind of saying life is too short to care about what you weigh and how skinny you are. You should just be you. You are perfect at whatever size you’re at!
.
« Life’s too short to keep people that do you wrong in your life »
I’ve had quite a hard time with this one. But seriously, why keep someone that’s not making you feel good in your circle? It may be tough to let the person go, but soon you will realize it’s way better for you!
.
« Anything can happen with the right amount of work and effort »
As long as you’re truly driven and are hardworking enough, anything can happen.
.
« Don’t be ashamed to make mistakes. You learn from them. »
Cliché but so incredibly true in my opinion!
.
« Be kind to others, you don’t know what they’re going through. »
Whether it’s someone you know well or someone you’ve just met for the first time don’t criticize, it’s free and you never know what someone is going through! Something that you say in 5 seconds could stick with someone for their whole life!
.
« It’s better to have a few good friends rather than a hundred fake ones »
I’ve always thought this to be so important because I feel like too many people prioritize being “popular”. Popularity in itself is just fake so just stick with your trusted friends and you’ll be good.
.
«Not everyone’s going to like you and that’s okay»
Being a blogger I know what I’m talking about. Rejection is okay, it’s part of life and I’m totally fine with it. But, it took me a little while to get used to it.
.
« If you want something you never had before, you need to do something you’ve never done before »
Get out of your comfort zone, crazy things will happen!
.


That is it, everyone. That is my list! I’ll admit I only got to 16 things in the end, but I would much rather have two less and be authentic with you guys! I hope you liked a somewhat different kind of post and that you might have learned something from my experiences!
.
Sending you lots of love, as always,
.
Tiffany Lea

Posted by

Hi, my name is Tiffany Lea. I'm a globetrotter and blogger. I posted every 2 to 3 days about everything ranging from entertainment to fashion to beauty! Join me on all my adventures around the world! Instagram: @tiffanyzimmy

2 thoughts on “Reminiscing on my 18th birthday – 18 things I’ve learned in 18 years

  1. Congratulations for your adulthood 🙂 . Yes indeed, being 18 has it’s luxuries but the responsibilities part isn’t that bad too. « Anything can happen with the right amount of work and effort » 😛 . Enjoy and keep exploring and maybe someday you will write about how the responsibilities transformed you 🙂 .

    Like

Reply